“New approaches for community-driven sustainable mobility innovations at neighbourhood and urban district level”

Funding Source: European Commission – Innovation and Networks Executive Agency (INEA)

Programme: HORIZON 2020 – “Smart, Green and Integrated Transport”

Duration: May 2017 – April 2020 (36 months)

URL: www.cities4people.eu

Cities-4-People is a H2020 project that aims to introduce a community driven People Oriented Transport and Mobility framework for tackling some of the most persistent urban and peri-urban sustainable mobility challenges of common interest to EU cities.

In line with the openness that many European cities demonstrate in terms of new forms of innovation, Cities-4-People works towards the integration of People within the mobility innovation ecosystems. The project argues that this people-centric innovation will enable cities to grasp significant benefits that range from fighting congestion to increasing innovation and service quality, from positive behavioural change and incentives for low emission alternatives to solutions development for reducing environmental impact of transport, surfacing scientific evidence points to the positive aspects and potential for mobility and beyond (e.g. energy, environmental, health).

To this end, the project deploys the principles of digital social innovation, collective awareness and open innovation in order to understand the real needs of EU citizens and empower them to collectively innovate and propose solutions. In further detail, citizens along with public and private city stakeholders will co-develop and endorse new concepts, harnessing digital and social innovation, while also having in mind major growing mobility trends.

Cities-4-People will apply its strategy in five different urban settings in terms of size, population density and socio-economic context, thus providing a set of complementary evidence and implications.

Consortium Members

  • Copenhagen Business School (Denmark) – Coordinator
  • Oxfordshire County Council (United Kingdom)
  • University College London (United Kingdom)
  • Municipality of the City of Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)
  • Institute for Transport Sciences (Hungary)
  • Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg (Hamburg, Germany)
  • HafenCity University Hamburg (Germany)
  • e-Trikala SA (Trikala, Greece)
  • Q-PLAN International (Greece)
  • Municipality of Uskudar (Istanbul, Turkey)
  • Istanbul University (Turkey)
  • White Research (Belgium)
  • Stichting Waag Society (Netherlands)